I should do this more often…

Instead of waiting for enough time to write a big beauty related post, I’m going to try to write more about… whatever I want.  Here are some things that have been going on recently:

  • My best friend got engaged this weekend!!  Brittany & Markus have been dating for over five years and are now officially engaged!  Let the wedding planning begin 🙂
  • I joined ShoeDazzle & JustFabulous so for ~$40 (each) I’ll get a pair of new shoes (or jewelry or a purse) each month!  They personalize recommendations for you and you get to pick whatever you want, or skip the month and you won’t get charged.  I placed my first orders a few days ago – I can’t wait for them to arrive!
  • Since most of the shoes on the sites above have high heels, I’ve been digging into my current collection to get my feet used to wearing high heels more frequently.  One thing that’s always deterred me from wearing high shoes to work is that they tend to give me blisters.  Band-aids haven’t been cutting it for me recently so I switched over to using deodorant… I rub it on the spots that are irritated and the deodorant allows the shoe to just slide over my skin without causing a blister.  GENIUS!  I don’t know why I didn’t think of it sooner.
  • For a few weeks now I’ve been reading a lot about going vegan.  I’ve never been a vegetarian or anything before so this would be totally new to me.  My diet is currently gluten-free and has been for almost two years, so I’ve been paying a lot of attention to what I eat for a while now but my focus has been really tuned into this subject a lot recently.  I bought a few books on veganism and am REALLY enjoying Alicia Silverstone‘s book The Kind Life.  I haven’t eaten any meat for a while now, but I am still eating dairy occasionally.  That’s definitely going to be the more difficult area to avoid.  After learning more about the pros and cons of eating meat and dairy, I am feeling very committed to eliminating them from my diet.  Wish me luck! 🙂

For those who don’t know, I was traveling A LOT for work from about November through February.  Luckily the travel piece is over now so I should have more time to write here.  See you again soon!

Leave a Reply

