Safer Cosmetics

Have you seen the Story of Cosmetics video yet? If not, please take a few minutes to watch it below.

Surprised? So was I. Annie Leonard’s message in the video shocked me and made me really think twice about the products I expose myself to.  Personally, my family has been affected by cancer more than once.  Both of my parents have had “run in’s” with skin cancer and my mom later passed away from breast cancer.  Because of this (and other reasons mentioned in the video) I have chosen to reduce the amount of toxins, chemicals, and artificial fragrances I expose myself to.

This will obviously affect this blog as well.  I have already changed the name of the blog from “Makeup, Beauty, and Gossip” to “Beauty Lite”.  I think that more accurately captures the vibe of what it will be about.  I am going to be blogging about my transition from using beauty products and cosmetics full of toxins to more pure products.  I can’t guarantee there won’t be fumbles and missteps along the way, that’s just all part of the journey, and I really hope you’ll join me.  Thank you!

Want to know more?

Excellent LA Times article

Annie Leonard: Why We Made “The Story of Stuff”

What can you do to help?

Campaign for Safe Cosmetics Act of 2010 – send an email to Congress, I did!

2 responses to “Safer Cosmetics

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Safer Cosmetics | Beauty Lite -- Topsy.com

  2. Lynwood Nordstrom

    This a truly great post and may be one that you should followed up to see what happens

    A mate e-mailed this link the other day and I will be desperately hoping for your next write. Keep up with the perfect work.

Leave a Reply

